Big Joe Miller, the 2010 World Champion, recorded drives of 469, 454 and 451 yards on Thursday to become one of the Mesquite 32 who will be part of the Saturday Showdown at the Mesquite Sports and Event Complex. Out of the Mesquite 32 will come the Las Vegas 8 finalists who will compete live on Golf Channel on Nov. 4 from Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort for the world title and a $250,000 first prize.

The former world champions who have successfully made it to the Mesquite 32 on Saturday are Miller, 2007 Champion Mike Dobbyn, five-time champion Jason Zuback, and two-time champions Jamie Sadlowski (2008, 2009) and Carl Wolter (2002, 2011). Six members of the 2013 Las Vegas 8 are still alive to make a second-straight appearance in the Las Vegas finals. They are: Miller, Sadlowski, Patrick Hopper, Matt Hanger, Will Hogue and Aaron Mansfield.

Defending Champion Tim Burke was eliminated early on Thursday, as was 2013 Las Vegas 8 finalist Tyler Kellett. Ryan Winther, the 2012 champion, withdrew with an injury. Long Drivers of America hall of famers and former world champions Brian Pavlet and Sean Fister also failed to make the Saturday Showdown. The Saturday Showdown will complete the double elimination format that started with 128 players in the Open Division on Thursday.

October is Long Drive Month on Golf Channel. Airing Oct. 14, 21 and 28, the first three episodes of the RE/MAX World Long Drive Championship will feature action from this week in Mesquite. The live finals air on Nov. 4 at 7 PM PST. Each of the Las Vegas 8 finalists will be featured on Golf Central, Morning Drive, Golf Fix and other Golf Channel programming throughout the month of October.

 Mesquite 32 — Saturday Showdown

(Yardage of qualifying drive noted)

Round 8 (Winner’s Bracket)

Patrick Hopper (390)

Ben Tuaone (390)
Justin Moose (384)
Jeff Gavin (390)
Justin Young (430)
Mike Dobbyn (415)
Joe Miller (469)
Lee Gauthier (454)
Aaron Mansfield (390)
Connor Powers (391)
Matt Hanger (392)
Jason Zuback (380)
Jeff Crittenden (440)
Glen Wilson (424)
Jeff Flagg (463)
Daniel Beckman (464)

Round 9 (Loser’s bracket — lost once already)

Ryan Riesbeck (385)
Dan McIntosh (384)
Cam Swanson (409)
Mitch McDowell (380)
Adam Smith (414)
Eric Dejesus (418)
Rob Teittmeyer (428)
Jeff Greer (416)
Mitch Grassing (408)
Trent Scruggs (393)
Zach Kirksey (390)
Chris Bennetts (382)
Jamie Sadlowski (443)
Dustin Merrill (438)
Will Hogue (456)
Carl Wolter (445)

For more information about the RE/MAX World Long Drive Championship and Long Drivers of America, visit or contact Long Drivers of America directly, at 682.549.2105.

Follow Long Drivers of America @longdriversUSA. Like on Facebook at