The Mesquite Police Department honored their 28 volunteer officers at a dinner April 6 at The Terrace Restaurant at Wolf Creek Golf Course.

Captain MaQuade Chesley, left, is the direct supervisor for the volunteer officers. He and Volunteer Coordinator Don Woodmancy, right, presented Craig Christensen with the Volunteer of the Year award. Christensen had logged between 250 and 499 hours for the 2016 year and was cited as being part of a valuable team that helps keep Mesquite safe. Photo by Stephanie Clark.


Full list of awards given:


Bob Butler

Bill Galeazzi

Stan Harger

Steve Koontz

Gary Moore

Cliff Randle

Barbara Russel

Mario Soto

George Steelman

Jose Zuniga


Presidential Service Awards

Bronze – 100-249 hours

Jim Bacratt

Jean Battaglia

Jon Browning

Peggie Booth

Donna Collum

Don Karpowich

Ron Salemme

Craig Smith


Silver – 250 – 499 hours

Russ Battaglia

Craig Christiensen

Peggy Santella


Gold – 500 hours

Jon Osgood


Volunteer of the Year

Craig Christensen