At the end of the first week of the official 2016 election filing period, only a handful of candidates had filed for state and local elections.

Two republicans have filed for Assembly District 19 that represents Mesquite in the State Legislature. Incumbent Chris Edwards and Mesquite resident Connie Foust put their names in the hat for the two-year seat. No democrats filed in the first week.

Incumbent Sandra Ramaker is the only person to file for the single Virgin Valley Water District Board of Directors’ seat representing Mesquite that’s up for election this year. Incumbent Nephi Julien, who also serves as president of the board, is the only one to file for the VVWD Board seat in this year’s election that represents Bunkerville.

In 2014 all seats on the five-person VVWD Board of Directors were changed from three elected/two appointed to all being elected. Mesquite is represented by three board members while Bunkerville has two board seats.

Incumbents Mike Young, Mesquite District 5, and Judy Metz, at-large District 7 on the Overton Power District Board of Trustees are the only ones to have filed in the first week for the seats they hold.

Mesquite Mayor Al Litman is the only person to file for the mayor’s seat. It is not a re-election situation for Litman since he is serving out a vacancy appointment made in 2014 when former Mayor Mark Wier resigned.

In the Mesquite City Council race, three seats are up for grabs this year. Councilmen Kraig Hafen and George Rapson are ending their five and a half year terms. Councilwoman Cindi Delaney is ending her vacancy appointment from 2014 when she filled the council seat held by Litman. Only two people filed for election in the first week, David P. Ballweg and Clarissa “CJ” Larsen.

The filing period ends Friday, March 18.